California DWI & DUI Laws

Court News 2022/03/19 16:21   Bookmark and Share
Per California's driving under the influence (DUI) laws, it's illegal to operate a motor vehicle with any of the following blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentages:

0.08% or higher― 21 years old or older operating a regular passenger vehicle.
0.04% or higher―operating a commercial vehicle.
0.01% or higher―younger than 21 years old.

The state's DUI laws include medications, too. You can't legally drive if you've consumed illegal drugs or:

Excessive amounts of drugs with alcohol in them (such as cough syrup).
Prescription medication.
Over-the-counter medication.

DUI convictions stay on your driving record for 10 years.
Understand Your DUI Penalties

Not all DUI penalties or charges are the same. Depending on your age, license type, and any previous convictions, you could face:

Admin Per Se license suspension.
Criminal license suspension
Fines.
Jail time or community service.
DUI school.
Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID).
SR-22 filing.

Admin Per Se Penalties

An Admin Per Se suspension occurs when the officer takes your license after you fail or refuse a chemical test. This action is taken by the CA Department of Motor Vehicles, under Admin Per Se laws and is in addition to any criminal charges given when refusing or failing a BAC test.

The officer will issue an Order of Suspension and possibly a temporary license. The officer's report, your license and any other information is then sent to the DMV. The DMV then will conduct a review. This review can set aside the suspension. You also have the right to request a hearing if you believe the suspension is unjustified.

You face harsher Admin Per Se license suspension penalties if you refuse to submit to a chemical test upon being pulled over for suspicion of drunk driving.

Victorville California DUI Attorneys

Younger than 21 years old

First Offense: Suspended for 1 year.
Second Offense: Revoked for 2 years.
Third Offense: Revoked for 3 years.

21 years old or Older

First Offense: Suspended for 1 year.
Second Offense: Revoked for 2 years.
Third Offense: Revoked for 3 years.
top

◀ PREV : [1] : .. [20] : [21] : [22] : [23] : [24] : [25] : [26] : [27] : [28] : .. [2556] : NEXT ▶








Disclaimer: Nothing posted on this blog is intended, nor should be construed, as legal advice. Blog postings and hosted comments are available for general educational purposes only and should not be used to assess a specific legal situation. Nothing submitted as a comment is confidential. Nor does any comment on a blog post create an attorney-client relationship. The presence of hyperlinks to other third-party websites does not imply that the firm endorses those websites.

Affordable Law Firm Website Design